Ultrasound in Pregnancy

During pregnancy, from the first trimester, we will check that your baby's development, including heart beat and the basic anatomy of the head, abdominal wall and limbs, follows on normally and as expected.

  • What is an ultrasound examination?

    An ultrasound examination allows visualisation of your baby by the use of sound waves travelling through your skin, and reflecting back images of the structures they come across on their way.

    The bone structure reflects most of the sound waves making the biggest echoes. These return a white image, when captured by the relevant software and projected on a computer screen. In these, soft tissues appear grey, and fluids, including the amniotic fluid surrounding your baby, appear black. This is because the sound waves can penetrate fluids without echoes being produced.

    The sound waves involved in ultrasound examinations are too high pitched to be heard from the human ear, and therefore they are completely safe for your baby.

    An ultrasound examination can help with many aspects of a pregnancy by allowing us to see and verify:

    • The number of babies in your womb.
    • The baby anatomy and size, which can then be related to the stage of the pregnancy.
    • The baby's internal organs and whether they are developing normally.
    • The placenta anatomy and whether is placed correctly between the mother and baby.
    • The umbilical cord and whether it is wrapped around the baby.
    • The womb, fallopian tubes and ovaries of the mother and whether any problems may arise with these during pregnancy.

    Your first scan is a very exciting time, because it allows you a first glimpse of your baby. In AAFC, we can reproduce it as a printed photograph that you can take home.

  • What types of ultrasound are available and how are they performed?

    Transvaginal Ultrasound

    In AAFC, a transvaginal scan will be performed by your doctor. An ultrasound probe is inserted through and across the vagina, and the images created by sound reflection are projected in a screen. This type of ultrasound is used early on in your pregnancy, during the first trimester, when an abdominal ultrasound might not be able to detect the fetus.

    With a transvaginal ultrasound, your doctor will confirm a uterine location of the pregnancy (as opposed to an ectopic pregnancy) and date the stage of the development.

    It is a very safe examination, performed without the use of any anesthetic. Your doctor will disinfect the transvaginal probe, cover it in a protective sheath, and lubricate it with the ultrasound gel for insertion into the vagina. By moving the probe around, the fetus will be located and observed. Your doctor will also check your reproductive organs' structures, including the developing placenta.

    The scan lasts about 5 to 10 minutes and you may only experience a mild discomfort. You may return to your daily activities as normally.

    Abdominal Ultrasound

    You will need a minimum of three abdominal ultrasound scans during your nine months of pregnancy. One of them will be during the middle of your first trimester and follow up ultrasounds will be defined by your doctor.

    During your first ultrasound, we will confirm the baby's heartbeat (7-8 weeks) and determine the number of fetuses.

    An abdominal ultrasound is a very safe examination and it does not require the use of anesthetics. You will be asked to drink 3-4 glasses of water and not to go to toilet until after the scan. The doctor will then apply the lubricating ultrasound gel on your belly and by gliding a handheld probe all around your belly will be able to locate and see the fetus. The images created by the reflection of sound are transmitted and visualized in a monitor allowing the doctor to perform the examination.

    The abdominal ultrasound does not last more than 10 minutes and you will not feel anything other than the cold abdominal lubricant applied at the beginning, and the mild discomfort of your bladder being full. You may return to your daily activities as normally.

    3D / 4D Ultrasound

    Like regular abdominal ultrasounds, the 3-dimentional (3D) and 4-dimentional (4D) ultrasounds also use sound waves to create an image of your baby in your womb. The difference is that instead of the end-result image being a 2D representation, it is a 3D model of your baby. The 4D ultrasound goes a step further creating a live video, like a movie, of your baby. With a 4D ultrasound, you may receive a movie of your baby, where you can watch your baby sleeping, smiling or yawning.

    The actual 3D / 4D ultrasound examination is exactly like a conventional abdominal ultrasound, but the images are converted to a 3D or a 4D effect with the use of special software.

    A 3D / 4D ultrasound allows you to see the face of your baby for the first time and they can be very popular with new parents, but, they can also be very useful in detecting a birth defect that a conventional ultrasound may miss out.

الموجات فوق الصوتية في الحمل

أثناء الحمل وبداية من الشهور الثلاثة الأولى منه سوف نتحقق من أن نمو طفلك يسير في مساره الطبيعي وعلى النحو المتوقع بما في ذلك معدل ضربات القلب والتشريح الأساسي للرأس وجدار البطن والأطراف.

  • ما هو الفحص بالموجات فوق الصوتية؟

    يسمح الفحص بالموجات الصوتية برؤية الجنين باستخدام الموجات الصوتية التي تنتقل عبر جسمك وتعكس صورة الهيكل التي تعبر خلاله في طريقها.

    يعكس هيكل العظام أغلب الموجات الصوتية محدثًا أكبر صدى. يكون لهذا الانعكاس صورة بيضاء عند التقاطها وعرضها على شاشة الحاسب الآلي باستخدام البرنامج ذي الصلة. في هذه الصورة تظهر الأنسجة الرقيقة بلون رمادي بينما تظهر السوائل بما في ذلك ماء الجنين المحيط بطفلك باللون الأسود وذلك لأن الموجات الصوتية يمكنهااختراق السوائل دون إصدار صدى.

    ونجد أن الموجات الصوتية المستخدمة في فحوصات الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية للغاية لدرجة أن أذن الإنسان يمكنها سماعها وبناءً عليه فهي آمنة تمامًا على طفلك.

    يمكن أن يساعد الفحص بالموجات فوق الصوتية في كثير من جوانب الحمل عن طريق السماح لنا برؤية والتحقق من:

    • عدد الأجنة في الرحم.
    • تشريح الطفل وحجمه واللذان يمكن أن يكون لهما علاقة بمرحلة الحمل.
    • أعضاء الطفل الداخلية وإذا ما كان نمو الطفل طبيعيًا.
    • تشريح المشيمة وإذا ما كان مكانها صحيحًا بالنسبة للأم والطفل.
    • الحبل السري وإذا ما كان ملفوفًا حول الطفل.
    • الرحم وقناتي فالوب والمبايض لدى الأم وإذا ما كان هناك أية مشكلات قد تنشأ فيها أثناء الحمل.

    إن الفحص الأول مثير للغاية لأنه يقدم لك أول لمحة عن طفلك. في مركز العين للإخصاب يمكنك أن تحصلي على صورة مطبوعة لتأخذيها معك.

  • ما هي أنواع الموجات الصوتية المتاحة وكيفية القيام بها؟

    فحص الموجات الصوتية المهبلي

    في مركز العين للإخصاب، يمكن لطبيبك القيام بالفحص المهبلي. وهي عبارة عن إدخال مسبار موجات صوتية في وعن طريق المهبل ويجري تكوين الصورة عن طريق إنعكاس الصوت وتعرض على شاشة. ويستخدم هذا النوع من الموجات الصوتية في أول الحمل أثناء الشهور الثلاثة الأولى منه حيث قد لا تستطيع الموجات الصوتية على البطن التقاط الجنين.

    ومن خلال فحص الموجات الصوتية المهبلي سوف يؤكد طبيبك موقع الحمل في الرحم (مقابل الحمل خارج الرحم) وتاريخ مرحلة التكوين.

    وهذا الفحص آمن للغاية ويجري القيام به دون أي تخدير. يقوم طبيبك بتعقيم المسبار المهبلي وتغطيته بغلاف خارجي وتزليقه بجل الموجات فوق الصوتية لإدخاله في المهبل. وعن طريق تحريك المسبار سوف يجري تحديد موقع الجنين ورصده. وسوف يتحقق الطبيب أيضًا من تكوين أعضائك التناسلية بما في ذلكنمو المشيمة.

    يستمر الفحص من 5 إلى 10 دقائق ويمكن أن تشعري فقط بضيق بسيط. يمكنك أن تعودي إلى أنشطتك اليومية بصورة طبيعية.

    فحص الموجات فوق الصوتية على البطن

    سوف تحتاجين على الأقل ثلاثة فحوصات بالموجات الصوتية على البطن أثناء شهور الحمل التسعة. يكون واحدًا منهم في منتصف الشهور الثلاثة الأولى وسوف تُحدد مواعيد متابعة الموجات الصوتية عن طريق طبيبك.

    أثناء فحص الموجات الصوتية الأول سوف نؤكد عن نبض الطفل (7 – 8 أسابيع) وسوف يحدد عدد الأجنة.

    وتعد فحص الموجات الصوتية على البطن آمن تمامًا ولا يحتاج إلى استخدام تخدير. سوف يطلب منك شرب من 3 إلى 4 أكواب مياه وعدم استخدام الحمام إلا بعد إجراء الفحص. بعد ذلك يضع الطبيب جل تزليق موجات فوق صوتية على بطنك وعن طريق تمرير مسبار يُمسك باليد على بطنك بالكامل وسوف يكون قادرًا على تحديد مكان الجنين ورؤيته. وتتكون الصور عن طريق انعكاس الصور المنتقلة ورؤيتها على شاشة مما يسمح للطبيب إجراءالاختبار.

    لا يستمر فحص الموجات الصوتية على البطن أكثر من 10 دقائق ولن تشعري بأي شيء دون المزلق البارد على البطن الموضوع في البداية وضيق بسيط بسبب امتلاء المثانة. ويمكنك أن تعودين إلى أنشطتك اليومية بصورة طبيعية.

    الموجات الصوتية الثلاثية الأبعاد/الرباعية الأبعاد

    مثل فحص الموجات الصوتية العادية على البطن، تستخدم الموجات الصوتية الثلاثية الأبعاد والرباعية الأبعاد الموجات الصوتية لتكوين صورة لطفلك داخل الرحم. ويكمن الفرق أنه بدلاً من أن تكون الصورة النهائية للموجات ثنائية الأبعاد، تكون نموذج ثلاثي الأبعاد لطفلك. وتقدم الموجات الصوتية الرباعية الأبعاد خطوة إضافية نحو عمل مقطع فيديو مباشر مثل الفيلم لطفلك. ومع الموجات الصوتية الرباعية الأبعاد يمكن أن تحصلي على مقطع فيديو لطفلك حيث تشاهدين ابنك ينام أو يبتسم أو يتثائب.

    وتشبه الموجات الصوتية الثلاثية الأبعاد/ الرباعية الأبعاد الموجات الصوتية العادية على البطن تمامًا لكن الصور تُحوَّل إلى صورة ثلاثية الأبعاد أو رباعية الأبعاد باستخدام برنامج معين.

    تسمح الموجات الصوتية الثلاثية الأبعاد/الرباعية الأبعاد لك برؤية وجه طفلك لأول مرة ويشيع استخدامه جدًا مع الآباء الجدد لكنه أيضًا ذو فائدة كبيرة في اكتشاف العيوب الخلقية التي يمكن أن لا تلتقطها الموجات الصوتية التقليدية.