Pregnancy Follow Up

A routine pregnancy follow-up aims to provide basic information about the health and well being of the mother and developing baby. Here in AAFC, we have divided your 9-month pregnancy journey into 10 essential steps and visits, during which you will be tested for your progress. Depending on your results, less or more visits may be required. Alternatively, if you would like to consult your doctor and midwife for anything that may arise or concerns you at any point of your pregnancy, outside these pre-planned visits, please feel free to contact us and book an appointment.

The timeline of a pregnancy is normally tracked from last menstruation and organized in three trimesters or about 40 gestational weeks. Any discrepancies between the last menstruation and gestational stage, it can be found during the first trimester with the help of an ultrasound examination.

The 10 essential visits should be any time around the mentioned weeks:

  • 7-8 weeks

    Around this time, we perform the first ultrasound to determine the location of the pregnancy, the size and heartbeat of the fetus.

  • 10-12 weeks

    At this stage, we will give you a follow-up personalized card with appointments for tracking your pregnancy to term.

    Routine tests performed at this point include: blood count, fasting glucose, urine culture, blood type for Rhesus (Rh) marker and presence of Rh antibodies if negative, rubella antibodies,Venereal Disease Research Laboratory (VDRL), Cyto-Megalo-Virus (CMV) antibodies, toxoplasma, Hepatitis B surface AntiGen (HBsAG), and if necessary Human Immuno deficiency Virus(HIV) testing. Depending on your individual circumstances, the level of thyroid hormones might also be checked at these weeks. All of these parameters / markers can be checked through blood testing.

    In addition, we recommend to perform the first trimester screening, which  is a prenatal blood test offering early information about a baby's risk of certain chromosomal conditions, including Down syndrome (trisomy 21), extra sequences of chromosome 18 (trisomy 18) and 13 (trisomy 13). Around the 12th week, we also perform an ultrasound test for the fetal Nuchal Translucency (NT). The NT examination checks the area at the back of the fetal neck for any signs of increased fluid or thickening.

    Depending on the maternal age, early chromosomal genetic diagnostic testing may also be performed around these weeks. With Chorionic Villus Sampling (CVS), a sample is taken from the placenta tissue and analyzed for genetic conditions, depending on personal and family history.

    In AAFC, we also provide a Non-Invasive Prenatal Testing (NIPT), also known as Non-Invasive Prenatal Diagnosis (NIPD), which is a sophisticated blood test. NIPT can detect fetal DNA in the maternal bloodstream and determine whether your baby is at risk of any chromosomaltrisomies (21, 13 and 18) or of a sex chromosome abnormality, such as Turner syndrome. This test can also be used to determine the sex of the baby and its Rh blood type. NIPT, being non-invasive, is ideal for avoiding tests that can place your baby and you at risk. Your doctor here in AAFC will advise on which genetic test is the most appropriate for your case at this stage of your pregnancy.

    The above mentioned tests can be arranged to be done in one or two visits, depending on which ones are most essential for you.

  • Weeks 15-18

    At this time point, more ultrasound screening takes place, and the levels of Alpha-Feto-Protein (AFP) can be checked. This protein is produced by the fetal liver and is present in the amniotic fluid (the fluid surrounding the baby). From there, it crosses the placenta and ends up into the mother's blood stream. Abnormal levels of AFP may be a signal of a number of conditions, including open neural tube defects (spina bifida, for instance), Down syndrome and other possible chromosomal abnormalities.

    In the case that AFP levels are outside the normal range, other markers and additional testing may be required. For instance an amniocentesis may be needed for a more accurate diagnosis of a chromosomal abnormality.

  • Weeks 20-22

    During this time, you will have another ultrasound scan to determine whether there is a late anomaly in the development of your baby.

  • Week 24

    At this stage, you will have a glucose challenge or a glucose tolerance test. Your doctor will give you specific instructions of what and when you can eat and hydrate for this test. Abnormal sugar levels will point the development of gestational diabetes.

    Further parameters that will be checked from your blood and urine tests at this stage include blood cell count, Rh antibody levels (for those with negative blood type), and urine culture for Group B Streptococcus (GBS). This test checks for the presence of GBS in the lower genital tract, as this infection affects about 25% of all women. A GBS infection normally does not cause problems to non-pregnant women, but it can cause serious implications and illness in expectant mothers, including infection of the placenta tissues, preterm labor, kidney infection, and in rare, very serious cases, sepsis (blood poisoning).

    During this time, you will also have a physical examination. Your doctor will check your arms and legs for swelling (edema), take your blood pressure and measure the length of your uterus (fundal height). Additionally, the baby's heart rate will be determined, as well as its position in the womb. These will be done with a fetoscope (a type of stethoscope, but for fetuses) or a Doppler device, and the use of ultrasound imaging.

  • Week 28

    By that time, your doctor can discuss your glucose test results and whether you need to receive an Rh immune globulin treatment. If you are Rh negative and your spouse is Rh positive, then you will need this treatment. For an Rh positive baby, this can be a life-threatening situation during labor.

  • Weeks 28-32

    Around this time, you will receive a review of the fetal growth and a follow-up visit will be arranged.

  • Weeks 34-39

    Labor is only a few weeks away. At this stage, you can opt for a weekly or bi-weekly tracking of fetal growth weight.

  • Week 40

    Your pregnancy journey comes to an end. You will have a follow-up ultrasound and your biophysical profile will be checked every 2-4 days.

  • Weeks 41-42

    You will reach this time point if you are late. Your doctor will refer you to the delivery room, where you may have a contraction stress test and induced to give labor.

متابعة الحمل (وصف). عشرة زيارات , عشرة صفحات

تهدف متابعة الحمل الروتينية إلى توفير معلومات أساسية عن صحة وعافية الأم ونمو الطفل. وهنا في مركز العين للإخصاب قمنا بتقسيم رحلة الشهور التسع للحمل إلى عشر خطوات وزيارات أساسية يمكن خلالها اختبار تطور حالتك. وحسب النتائج، قد تكون هناك حاجة إلى زيارات أقل أو أكثر. وبدلاً من ذلك إذا أردت أن تستشيري طبيبك أو قابلتك عن أي شيء قد يحدث أو أي شيء يقلقك في أي مرحلة من مراحل حملك خارج هذه الزيارات المحددة مسبقًا، يُرجى الاتصال بنا وحجز موعد.

يجري تعقب التسلسلالزمني للحمل بصورة طبيعية من آخر حيض ويقسم على ثلاثة فصول أو حوالي 40 أسبوعًا من الحمل. وأي اختلافات بين آخر حيض ومرحلة الحمل يمكن أن تكتشف في الشهور الثلاثة الأولى بمساعدة فحص الموجات الصوتية.

يجب أن تكون الزيارات العشرة الأساسية في أي وقت في الأسابيع المذكورة:

  • الأسبوع 7 – 8

    في غضون هذا الوقت، سوف نقوم بإجراء فحص الموجات الصوتية الأول لتحديد مكان الحمل وحجم الجنين ونبضه.

  • الأسبوع 10 – 12

    في هذه المرحلة سوف نقدم لك بطاقة متابعة خاصة بمواعيد متابعة حملك حتى ذلك الوقت.

    تشمل الاختبارات الروتينية التي تؤدى في هذه المرحلة: تعداد كرات دم وتحليل سكرصائم ومزرعة بول ونوع الدم للعامل ريزوس ووجود أجسام العامل ريزوس المضادة في حالة كان الاختبار سالبًا، وأجسام الحصبة الألمانية المضادة واختبار مختبر بحوث الأمراض المنقولة جنسيًا وأجسام الفيروس المضخم للخلايا المضادة والمقوسة والمستضد السطحي لفيروس الالتهاب الكبدي ب وفي حالات الضرورة اختبار فيروس عوز المناعة البشري. وحسب ظروفك الشخصية يمكن أيضًا أن يجري فحص هرمونات الغدة الدرقية في هذه الأسابيع. ويمكن التحقق من هذه العلامات/المعاملات من خلال اختبار الدم.

    إضافة إلى ذلك، نوصي بإجراء فحص الشهور الثلاثة الأولى، وهو اختبار للدم قبل الولادة يقدم معلومات أوليةعن المخاطر التي يواجهها طفلك بخصوص الحالات الكرموسومية بما في ذلك متلازمة داون (التثلث الصبغي 21) والمضاعفات الإضافية للكروموسوم 18 (التثلث الصبغي 18) و13 (التثلث الصبغي 13). وتقريبًا بحلول الأسبوع 12 يمكنك أيضًا أن تجري اختبار موجات صوتية من أجل سماكة الشفافية القفوية الجنينية. تفحص اختبارات الشفافية القفوية الجنينية منطقة في قفا الجنين للبحث عن أي علامات لزيادة السائل أو زيادة السمك.

    وحسب سن الأم يمكن أن يُجرى اختبار تشخيصي جيني كروموسومي مبكر في هذه الأسابيع. وفي اختبار الاعتيان من الزغابات المشيمية، تؤخذ عينة من أنسجة المشيمة وتحلل لمعرفة الحالات الجينية حسب التاريخ الشخصي والأسري.

    في مركز العين للإخصاب نوفر أيضًا الاختبارات السابقة على الولادة غير الباضعة تُعرف بالتشخيص السابق على الولادة غير الباضعة وهو اختبار دم معقد. يمكن للاختبارات السابقة على الولادة غير الباضعة أن تشخص عيبًا في الحمض النووي الجنيني في مجرى دم الأم وتحدد إذا ما كان الطفل عرضةً لخطر أي من التثلثات الصبغية الكرموسومية (21 و13 و18) أو وجود شذوذ في كروموزمات الجنس مثل متلازمة تيرنر. يمكن استخدام هذه الاختبار لتحديد جنس الطفل ونوع الدم الريزوسي. وحيث تكون هذه الاختبارات السابقة على الولادة غير الباضعة فهي مثالية لتجنب الاختبارات التي يمكن أن تعرضك أنتِ وطفلك للخطر. سوف يقوم طبيبك في مركز العين للإخصاب بنوع الاختبار الجيني الأكثر ملائمة لحالتك في هذه المرحلة من الحمل.

    يمكن الترتيب لإجراء الاختبارات المذكورة أعلاه في زيارة أو زيارتين حسب الاختبارات الأكثر أهمية بالنسبة لكِ.

  • الأسبوع 15- 18

    في ذلك الوقت، يتم إجراء المزيد من فحوصات الموجات الصوتية، ويمكن التحقق من مستوى بروتين الألفا فيتو. يفرز هذا البروتين من كبد الجنين ويتواجد في ماء الجنين (الماء المحيط بالجنين). ومن ذلك المكان، ينتقل إلى المشيمة ويتواجد في النهاية في مجرى دم الأم. وقد تكون المستويات غير الطبيعية لبروتين الألفا فيتو إشارة إلى عدد من الحالات بما فيها عيب الأنبوب العصبي المفتوح (مثلاً عدم اكتمال انغلاق فقرات العمود الفقري) ومتلازمة داون والعيوب الكروموسومية الأخرى المحتملة

    في حالة كانت مستويات بروتين الألفا فيتو خارج نطاقها الطبيعي، يمكن طلب إجراء اختبارات إضافية ويستلزم معاملات أخرى. على سبيل المثال قد تكون هناك حاجة للبزل الأمنيوسي للحصول على تشخيص أكثر دقة للعيب الكروموسومي.

  • الأسبوع 20 – 22:

    في ذلك الوقت سوف تخضعين لفحص آخر بالموجات الصوتية لتحديد إذا ما كانت هناك شذوذ متأخر في نمو طفلك.

  • الأسبوع 24

    في هذه المرحلة، سوف تخضعين لتحدي الجلوكوز أو اختبار تحمل الجلوكوز. سوف يعطيكِ طبيبك تعليمات خاصة عن نوعية الطعام والشراب ومواعيده من أجل هذا الاختبار. وسوف تشير مستويات السكري غير العادية إلى الإصابة بالسكري الحملي.

    هناك معايير أخرى سوف يجري فحصها في اختبار الدم والبول الخاصة بك في هذه المرحلة تشمل تعداد خلايا الدم ومستويات الأجسام المضاد للعامل ريزوس(لمن لديهمنوع دم سالب) ومزرعة بول للمجموعة ب من البكتيريا العقدية. ويتحقق هذا الفحص من وجود المجموعة ب من البكتيريا العقدية في الجهاز التناسلي السفلي حيث تؤثر هذه العدوى على 25% من جميع النساء. وعادةً لا تسبب عدوى المجموعة ب من البكتيريا العقدية مشاكل لغير الحوامل لكن يمكن أن تسبب تداعيات وأمراض خطيرة في الأمهات الحوامل شاملة إصابة أنسجة المشيمة بعدوى والمخاض المبكر وعدوى الكلى وفي حالات نادرة وخطيرة للغاية تسبب الإنتان (تسمم الدم).

    في ذلك الوقت، سوف تخضعين أيضًا لفحص جسماني. سوف يفحص طبيبك إصابة ذراعيك وساقيك بالتورم (الاستسقاء) فضلاً عن أخذ قياس ضغط الدم وطول الرحم (ارتفاع قعر الرحم). إضافة إلى ذلك سوف يجري قياس معدل ضربات قلب الطفل فضلاً عن وضعه داخل الرحم.وسيجري القيام بهذا الأمر باستخدام منظار للجنين (جهاز مثل سماعة الطبيب لكن للأجنة) أو جهاز دوبلر واستخدم التصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية.

  • الأسبوع 28

    في ذلك الوقت، يمكن أن يناقش معك الطبيب نتائج تحليل سكر الدم وإذا ما كنت تحتاجين معالجة غلوبيولين المناعية الريزوسية. في حالة كان العامل الريزوسي الخاص بك سالبًا والعامل الريزوسي لزوجك إيجابيًا من ثم ستحتاجين لهذا العلاج. بالنسبة للأطفال ذوي عامل ريزوسي موجب يمكن أن يكون في وضع يهدد حياته أثناء المخاض

  • الأسبوع 28- 32

    في ذلك الوقت سوف تحصلين على مراجعة لنمو الجنين وسيجري تحديد مواعيد المتابعة.

  • الأسبوع 34 -39

    يفصلك عن المخاض أسابيع قليلة. يمكنك أن تختاري بين متابعة أسبوعية أو كل أسبوعين لمتابعة وزن نمو الجنين.

  • الأسبوع 40

    لقد وصل الحمل إلى نهايته. وسوف تخضعين فحص بالموجات الصوتية وسوف يجري التحقق من ملفك البيولوجي الفيزيائي كل 2 إلى 4 أيام.

  • الأسبوع 41- 42

    إذا وصلت إلى هذه المرحلة فقد تأخرت. وسوف يحيلك الطبيب إلى غرفة الولادة حيث يمكن أن تخضعين لاختبار ضغط الانقباض ويجري التحفيز لعملية الولادة.