Embryologists

  • FIRAS ALBUZ, MSc, PhD

    Fertilisation & Embryology Lab Director

    falbuz@aafc.ae

    Dr Firas Albuz is the Assisted Reproductive Technologies (ART) Laboratories Director at the Al Ain Fertility Center (AAFC). Dr Albuz is an expert in Clinical Embryology, from his educational stages to his professional career to date, having performed research and managed IVF laboratories in Jordan, Germany and Australia.

    Dr Albuz obtained his BSc in Applied Biological Science, specialising in Molecular Biology and Genetics, from Jordan University of Science and Technology in 1999. He later obtained his MSc in Clinical Embryology from the University of Leeds in 2007. Following, Dr Albuz joined the Robinson Institute at the University of Adelaide in Australia, where he worked on novel treatments of infertility. His work on the In-Vitro Maturation (IVM) of oocytes, sponsored by the Cook Medical company, awarded him his PhD in Reproductive Medicine in 2010. The IVM procedure and media suite from his PhD research have been patented and published in high impact factor journals.

    After obtaining his PhD, Dr Albuz joined the well renowned Center of Reproductive Medicine, UZ Brussels, in Belgium, as a post-doctoral fellow for two years. There, he continued his research and established a clinical program for oocyte IVM. In 2011, Dr Albuz moved back to the Middle East to take up a leading position as the director of the first and largest IVF center in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, which involved managing four IVF laboratories.

    Dr Albuz is an innovative researcher who also has experience in intellectual property protection and commercialization. He has published and co-authored several papers in peer-reviewed journals in the field of assisted reproductive medicine gaining a growing international reputation. His work has been recognized with multiple nominations and prizes, as he regularly participates at local and international conferences.

  • Linda Kheira Rabiaa Bouhafs

    Special Embryologist

  • Rawan Hamad Almekosh

    Embryologist

    ivf@aafc.ae

    “A healthy baby is what we need”

    Rawan AlMekosh is a specialised technologist in the Andrology Laboratory of Al Ain Fertility Center. She has a broad lab experience since 2009.

    Ms AlMekosh obtained an MSc in Clinical Biochemistry from the Jordan University of Science and Technology in 2009. Before that, she studied Medical Laboratory Technology in the University of Sharjah, in UAE, graduating with a BSc Honors degree in 2007.

    Soon after completion of her studies, Ms AlMekosh worked in the Biochemistry Department, within the AlKatranji Medical Laboratory, in Damascus, Syria. There she specialised in neonatal screening tests for the detection of metabolic conditions. Her tasks involved collecting, preparing and analyzing blood specimens from new-born babies. She concentrated mainly in detection of the amino and fatty acid disorders Tyrosinemia I and II, Phenylketonuria, Homocystinuria and Carnitine / Acylcarnitine Translocase Deficiency. During her time there, she was also involved in side projects, performing analyses of blood samples, extracting and analyzing proteins from patients that had received a kidney transplant or had Multiple Sclerosis in order to assess effectiveness of their medication.

    Ms AlMekosh is a member of the American Board of Clinical Chemistry.

  • Myrish Veniegas Aujero

    Medical Laboratory Technologist

    maujero@aafc.ae

علماء الأجنة

  • فراس البظ

    مدير مختبر علم الأجنة و أمراض الذكوره

    falbuz@aafc.ae

    (AAFC) بمركز العين للإخصاب (ARTs) د. فراس البظ هو مدير مختبرات تقنيات الإخصاب المساعد

    د. البظ خبير في علم الأجنة الإكلينيكي، منذ بداية حياته التعليمية و المهنية و حتى يومنا هذا، قام بإجراء عدة أبحاث وإدارة مختبرات عديدة في كل من الأردن وألمانيا وأستراليا.

    وقد حصل د. البظ على درجة البكالوريوس في علم الأحياء التطبيقي، وتخصص في البيولوجيا الجزيئية وعلم الوراثة، من جامعة العلوم والتكنولوجيا الأردنية عام 1999. ثم حصل على الماجستير في علم الأجنة الإكلينيكي من جامعة ليدز/ المملكة المتحدة عام 2007. بعد ذلك التحق د. البظ بمعهد روبنسون العالمي بجامعة أديليد، أستراليا، حيث عمل على استكشافات جديدة للعقم. و قد حصل على درجة الدكتوراة في الطب التناسلي برعاية شركة كوك ميديكال تقديرًا لعمله في الإنضاج المعملي للبويضات خارج الجسم(IVM) عام 2010. وقد سجلت إجراءات الإنضاج المعملي وتركيب وسائطها التي قام بها في بحثه العلمي في رسالة الدكتوراة كبراءة اختراع ونشرت في دوريات و مجلات عالمية مرتفعة التصنيف.

    بعد الحصول على درجة الدكتوراة، انضم د. البظ إلى مركز الطب التناسلي الشهير في بروكسل، بلجيكا، في زمالة ما بعد الدكتوراة لمدة عامين. وهناك تابع أبحاثة وأنشأ برنامجًا إكلينيكيًا لإنضاج البويضات بالمعمل. وفي عام 2011، عاد د. البظ إلى الشرق الأوسط ليتولى قيادة أول وأضخم مركز إخصاب في المملكة العربية السعودية، حيث تولى إدارة أربعة معامل لأطفال الأنابيب.

    د. البظ باحث مبتكر ومجدد لديه خبرة في حماية الملكية الفكرية والتسويق التجاري. وقد نشر عدة أوراق بحثية مع مؤلفين آخرين على مستوى عالمي  في دوريات يراجعها الجميع في مجال الطب الإنجابي المساعد، مما أكسبه شهرة دولية كبيرة. وقد حصلت أعماله على عدة تكريمات وجوائز، ويشارك باستمرار في المؤتمرات المحلية والدولية.

     

     

  • لندا ربيعة بوحفص

    متخصص في علم الأجنة

  • روان المغوّش

    فنية علم الأجنة

     

    “كل ما نحتاجه هو مولود معافى”

    روان المغوّش هي أختصاصية في مختبر أمراض الذكورة في مركز العين للإخصاب ولديها تجربة معملية واسعة منذ عام 2009. وهي متعاونة وودوة للعملاء كما أنها مسئولة أيضا عن إدارة مساعدة المرضى في مركز العين للإخصاب.

    حصلت السيدة/ المغوّش على درجة الماجستير في الكيمياء الحيوية السريرية من جامعة الأردن للعلوم والتكنولوجيا في عام 2009. وقبل ذلك درست تقنية المختبرات الطبية في جامعة الشارقة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة, وحصلت على درجة البكالريوس مع مرتبة الشرف في عام 2007.

    وبعد انتهائها من دراستها مباشرةً عملت السيدة المغوّش في قسم الكيمياء الحيوية داخل معمل القطرنجي الطبي في دمشق بسوريا, وهناك تخصصت في اختبارات حديثي الولادة للكشف عن حالاتهم الأيضية. وتضمنت مهامها جمع وإعداد وتحليل فصائل الدم من الأطفال حديثي الولادة. وقد ركزت بصفة أساسية على فحص اضطرابات الأحماض الأمينية والدهنية وفَرْطُ تيروزينِ الدَّم الأول والثاني, وفينايلكيتونوريا (أو بيلة فينيل كيتون وهو أحد أنواع الأمراض الوراثية) وبيلة هوموسيستينية واضطراب كارنيتين/أسيل الكارنيتينترانسلوكاز. وشاركت أيضًا خلال فترة وجودها هناك في مشاريع جانبية وتحاليل عينات الدم, استخراج وتحليل البروتينات من المرضى الذين خضعوا لعملية زرع كلية أو لديهم مرض التصلب العصبي من أجل تقييم فعالية أدويتهم.

    السيدة/ المغوّش هي عضو المجلس الأمريكي للكيمياء السريرية.

  • مايرش أوجيرو

    فني مختبر تحاليل

  • بينجي ميدفيلا

    فني مختبر تحاليل