Gynecological cancer screening

Screening for gynecological cancers involves the active searching for cancerous or pre-cancerous signs before a woman has any symptoms. It helps find cancer at a very early stage, when it is easier to treat it and eradicate it.

When your doctor recommends you for gynecological cancer screening, it is important to remember that it does not necessarily mean that you have cancer, as these screenings are requested when there are not symptoms.

In the event that your screening is returned with an abnormal result, then a series of diagnostic tests are needed in order to investigate further whether it is a cancer and its extent (its stage, for instance).

The cancers that affect the reproductive organs include cervical, ovarian, uterine, vaginal and vulvar manifestations of the disease. Currently, out of all these cancers, only cervical cancer has an easy and proved screening method, either with a Pap test or liquid cytology.

  • So, what does a gynecological cancer screening involves?

    The general practice for gynecological cancer screening, other than cervical, relies on careful observation of potential warning signs. A simple guide of what you can do to reduce risks of these cancers includes the following advice:

    • Pay attention to changes in your body and know your physiology (what is normal) for you.

    • If you notice changes in your vaginal secretions, or presence of blood at an unexpected time of a month, talk to your doctor immediately.

    • Be aware of your family history. If you had a close relative with breast, colorectal or ovarian cancer, visit your doctor and ask for regular routine checks. A genetic analysis for cancer risk will be also recommended in this case, as there is a common genetic link between breast, colorectal, ovarian and endometrial cancers.

الكشف الطبي للأورام السرطانية

ينصح دائما بالكشف الطبي للأورام السرطانية لدى النساء و ذلك لمعرفة أية إشارات أو علامات سرطانية أو ما قبل السرطانية قبل أن يكون لدى المرأة أية أعراض. كما أنه يساعد على اكتشاف السرطان في مرحلة مبكرة و بذلك يكون العلاج والقضاء عليه أسهل.

عندما ينصحك الطبيب بالكشف عن السرطان النسائي, فمن المهم أن تتذكري أن هذا لا يعني بالضرورة أن تكوني مصابة بالسرطان, كما أن هذه الفحوصات تُطلب عندما لا تكون هناك أية أعراض.

في حالة كانت نتائج تحاليلك غير طبيعية فيجب إجراء سلسلة من الاختبارات التشخيصية من أجل التحقق مما إذا كان هذا سرطان وحجمه (المرحلة التي وصل إليها على سبيل المثال).

وتشمل أنواع السرطان التي تصيب أعضاء الجهاز التناسلي سرطان عنق الرحم والمبيض والرحم والمهبل والفرج بجميع مراحلهم التطورية وأعراضهم. تحديدا سرطان عنق الرحم: فإن سرطان عنق الرحم فقط هو الذي له طريقة سهلة ومؤكدة للفحص, إما مع عن طريق اختبار مسحة من عنق الرحم أو من افرازات الرحم.

  • إذًا, ماذا يتضمن الكشف عن الأورام السرطانية عند النساء؟

    يعتمد الكشف الطبي العام للأورام السرطانية  بالإضافة إلى سرطان عنق الرحم على ملاحظة دقيقة لعلامات تحذيرية محتملة. وهذا دليل بسيط لما يمكنك القيام به للحد من مخاطر هذه الأمراض و ننصح الأتي:

    • انتبهي إلى التغيرات التي تطرأ على جسدك ومعرفة طبيعتكِ الفسيولوجية (ما هو الطبيعي لك).
    • إذا لاحظتِ أية تغيرات في الإفرازات المهبلية, أو وجود دم في وقت غير متوقع من الشهر فتحدثي مع طبيبك على الفور.
    • كوني مُلمة بالتاريخ المرضي للعائلة. إذا كانت لديكِ قريبة كانت مصابة بسرطان الثدي أوقريبًا مصابًابسرطان القولون والمستقيم أو قريبة مصابة بسرطان المبيض, فتوجهي بالزيارة إلى طبيبكِ واطلبي منه إجراء الفحوصات الروتينية العادية. ويُنصح أيضًا في هذه الحالة بإجراء التحليل الجيني لمخاطر الإصابة بالسرطان, كما أن هناك حلقة ربط وراثية مشتركة بين سرطان الثدي وسرطان القولون والمستقيم وسرطان المبيض وسرطان بطانة الرحم.