Genetics analysis for cancer risk

Naturally, in all the cells of our body, we have mechanisms that protect us against cancer. However, when mistakes (in the form of a mutation) happen on exactly these mechanisms, the result is cancer.

When these mutations are carried down in the generations of a family, they cause inheritable cancers. Breast, ovarian, colorectal and prostate cancers can all be the result of a common genetic link.

The genes BRCA1 and BRCA2 are such an example, and when they are mutated they cause breast and ovarian cancer in women. Normally, the job of the product of these two genes is to maintain proper cellular division and suppress tumor formation, so when a mutation stops them from working properly, progressively, a tumor may occur.

These two genes are not the only ones known to cause cancers. Currently, there are about 100 new cancer-risk genes that we can check in order to assess your risk for the disease.

  • What does a genetic analysis for cancer risk test involve?

    The test involves a diagnostic blood test, which looks for these cancer marker genes. It takes 4 to 8 weeks for the analysis to be returned to us, and depending on your results, some of your relatives may also be asked to take the test.

    If you receive a 'negative' result, it means that you have not inherited the faulty gene from your family, and your risk of developing cancer is the same as for any other individual.

    If you receive a 'positive' result, then it means that you are in a higher risk group for developing the disease, and your doctor will discuss with you your options. You may manage it, through life-style changes and / or risk-reducing surgery. The famous Hollywood actress, Angelina Jolie, had preventative surgical removal of her breasts and ovaries, because she was found positive for the BRCA1 mutation.

التحليل الوراثي لمخاطر الإصابة بالسرطان

بطبيعة الحال في كل خلية من خلايا جسدنا, لدينا الآليات التي تحمينا من السرطان. ومع ذلك عندما تحدث أخطاء (في شكل طفرة) في هذه الآليات تحديدًا, فإن النتيجة تكون هي الإصابة بالسرطان.

عندما تتوراث هذه الطفرات في أجيال متعاقبة من إحدى العائلات فإنها تسبب أنواع من السرطان القابلة للتوريث. ويمكن أن يكون سرطان الثدي وسرطان المبايض وسرطان القولون والمستقيم وسرطان البروستاتا جميعهم نتيجة لحلقة وراثية مشتركة.

على سبيل المثال عندما يتم تغير جيني للجينات BRCA1 وBRCA2وتتعرض لبعض الطفرات فإنهم يسببون سرطان الثدي والمبيض للنساء. وعادةً ما تكون وظيفة ناتج هذين الجينين الحفاظ على الانقسام الخلوي السليم وقمع تشكيل التورم, ولذلك عندما توقفهم إحدى الطفرات عن العمل بشكل صحيح يحدث الورم تدريجيًا.

هذان الجينان ليس هما الوحيدان المعروفان بأنهما يسببان السرطان. فحاليًا هناك حوالي 100 جين جديد يحملون خطر الإصابة بالسرطان يمكننا أن نفحصك من أجل تقييم مخاطر تعرضك أو إصابتك بهذا المرض.

  • ماذا يتضمن التحليل الجيني لخطر الإصابة بالسرطان؟

    يشمل هذا الاختبار إجراء اختبار تشخيصي للدم, والذي يبحث عن الجينات المحددة للسرطان. وتستغرق مدة رجوع النتائج إلينا من 4 إلى 8 أسابيع واعتمادًا على نتائجك يمكن أن يُطلب من بعض أقاربك أيضًا إجراء هذا الإختبار.

    إذا حصلت على النتيجة وكانت "سلبية" فإنها تعني أنك لم ترث الجينات المعيبة من العائلة وخطر تطور السرطان لديك هو نفس الخطر لأي شخص آخر.

    إذا تحصلت على النتيجة وكانت "إيجابية" فهذا يعني أنك وقعت في مجموعة من المخاطرالكبيرة لتطور هذا المرض وسوف يناقش طبيبك معك الخيارات المتاحة أمامك. وقد نستطيع التعامل معها من خلال إحداث بعض التغييرات في نمط الحياة و/أو جراحة للحد من الخطر. وقد خضعت ممثلة هوليود الشهيرة أنجلينا جولي لاستئصال جراحي وقائي لثديها والمبايض وذلك لأنها وجدت طفرة الجين BRCA1 إيجابية لديها.