Family planning and contraception

For a new couple to start a family, one of the husband's sperms needs to reach and fertilize the wife's egg. If you are both ready to proceed with a family, you need to know which days of the month you are most fertile and concentrate your efforts to conceive around this time. Alternatively, if you are not prepared to have a family, here in AAFC, we recommend the following methods of contraception.

  • What contraception methods are available in AAFC?

    The contraception methods that we recommend include:

    • Long-acting reversible contraception: This type of contraception method is very effective in preventing pregnancy and convenient, as you do not have to worry if you forget to take a pill, or after a condom failure. An example of this type of contraception is the Intra-Uterine Device (IUD), which lasts for five years or more, and it can be easily reversed, when you are ready to have a family.

    • Hormonal contraception: It is one of the most popular methods and it is widely known as the pill. This contains a mix of the hormones estrogen and progestogen, which can effectively block pregnancy. Hormonal contraception comes in the form of (1) the classic pill, which has to be taken daily (2) a vaginal ring, which needs renewing every month, and (3) patches, which must be changed every week. Here in AAFC, we also offer aprogestogen-only daily contraceptive pill, which you may either prefer or have to take, because of a medical condition where estrogens are contraindicated. Hormonal contraceptives are more than 99% effective in pregnancy prevention, when they are taken as instructed.

    • Barrier methods: This method of contraception stops sperms from entering the womb with the use of a physical barrier, such as a diaphragm for women or the male / female condoms. The diaphragm must be covered in spermicide and inserted in the vagina every time before intercourse. Condoms collect the semen before it enters the vagina, but they can also protect against Sexually Transmitted Infections (STIs).

    • Fertility awareness: With this method, you learn to observe and record your body's signs on each day of your menstrual cycle, taking them into account for planning intercourse with your spouse. Specifically, you need to be aware of: (1) your body's temperature (slightly higher during ovulation), (2)your cervical fluid secretions (clearer during ovulation), and (3) the length of your menstrual cycle. Learning to identify these signs every month can help calculate accurately the day of your ovulation. This usually coincides with the middle of your cycle, and this is when you need to be careful or abstain from intercourse.

    Depending on your individual circumstances and your method of choice for contraception, our doctors and midwives, here in AAFC, can advise you on anything you may need.

تنظيم الأسرة ووسائل منع الحمل

لكي يكون الزوجان أسرة، يجب أن يصل أحد حيوانات الزوج المنوية إلى بويضة الزوجة ويخصبها. إذا كنتم تريدون ذلك فأنتم بحاجة لمعرفة أيام الشهر التي تكونون فيها في أفضل حالات الخصوبة وتركزوا مجهوداتكم لحدوث الحمل في هذا الوقت. وعلى النقيض، إذا كنتم تريدون منع الحمل، فنحن في مركز العين للإخصاب نوصي بالطرق التالية لمنع الحمل..

  • ما هي طرق منع الحمل المتاحة في مركز العين للإخصاب؟

    تشمل طرق منع الحمل التي نوصي بها ما يلي:

    • وسائل منع الحمل العكسية طويلة المفعول:
      هذه الطريقة فعالة جدا ومناسبة لمنع الحمل، حيث أنكم لستم بحاجة للقلق إذا نسيتم تناول قرص الدواء، أو بعد قطع الواقي الذكري. من أمثلة هذه الطريقة اللولب الرحمي (IUD) الذي يستمر خمس سنوات أو أكثر ويمكن إزالته بسهولة، عندما تكونوا مستعدين لتكوين أسرة.

    • منع الحمل الهرموني:إحدى أكثر الطرق شيوعًا وتُعرف باسم حبوب منع الحمل. وتحوي مزيجًا من هرموني الأستروجين والبروجيسترون، اللذان يمكنهما منع الحمل بفاعلية. ويأتي منع الحمل الهرموني في صورة (1) حبة عادية تؤخذ مرة يوميا، و(2) حلقة مهبلية مانعة يجب تجديدها كل شهر، و(3) لاصقات منع الحمل والتي يجب تغييرها كل أسبوع. وهنا في مركز العين للإخصاب نقدم فقط حبة بروجيستيرون يومية لمنع الحمل، وقد تفضلون أو تضطرون لأخذها، بسبب الحالة الطبية التي تمنع تناول الاستروجين. وتصل نسبة فاعلية موانع الحمل الهرموني لأكثر من 99%، وذلك في حالة تناولها حسب الإرشادات.

    • الوسائل العازلة "الجنس الآمن":تعتمد هذه الطريقة على منع الحيوانات المنوية من دخول الرحم باستخدام حاجز مادي، كعازل منع الحمل للنساء أو الواقي الذكري/النسائي. ويجب تغطية هذا العازل الأنثوي بمبيد للحيوانات المنوية وإدخاله في المهبل كل مرة قبل الجماع. وتقوم الواقيات بجمع السائل المنوي قبل دخوله المهبل، ويمكنها أيضًا المساعدة في الوقاية من العدوى التي تنتقل بالاتصال الجنسي (STDs).

    • الوعي بالخصوبة "فترة الأمان":بهذه الطريقة تتعلمين مراقبة علامات الجسد وتسجيلها يوميًا خلال فترة الدورة، وتضعينها في اعتبارك عند التخطيط للجماع مع الزوج. تحديدًا يجب التركيز على: (1) درجة حرارة الجسم (والتي تكون أعلى قليلاً خلال التبويض)، و(2) إفرازات عنق الرحم (أكثر نقاءً خلال التبويض)، و(3) طول مدة الدورة الشهرية. إنّ تعلُّم تحديد هذه العلامات كل شهر يمكن أن يساعد على حساب يوم التبويض بدقة والذي يصادف عادةً منتصف الدورة، وعندها يجب عليكِ الاحتراس أو الامتناع عن الجماع

    • بحسب ظروف حالتك الشخصية وطريقتك في اختيار منع الحمل، هنا في مركز العين للإخصاب، يمكن لأطبائنا والقابلات "المولدات" أن يساعدوكِ بالنصح حول أي شيئ قد تحتاجينه.