Genetics. PGD and PGS

Preimplantation Genetics Diagnostic (PGD) and Preimplantation Genetics Screening (PGS) help reduce the risk of genetics disease (e.g. Beta-Thalassemia and sickle cell anemia) and chromosomal abnormalities responsible for implantation failure, miscarriage or syndromes (such as Trisomy 21 or Down’s Syndrome). AAFC Genetic provides a wide range of genetic services to help couples achieve a healthy pregnancy and improve the success of IVF. PGD and PGS are offered seven days a week with rapid turnaround time allowing next day embryo transfer.

  • PREIMPLANTATION GENETIC DIAGNOSIS & IVF RELATED GENETIC TESTS

     

    • Karyotyping.
    • Pre-PGD genetic investigations.
    • Known mutation analysis for parents, affected child and relatives.
    • HLA-typing - HLA- A+B+C or A+B+DR
                         HLA- A+B+C+DRB1/3/4/5+DQB1
    • Carrier Screening for >2000 mutations causing > 250 disorders.
    • Sperm DNA Fragmentation Testing.
    • Y-Chromosome microdeletions Testing.
    • Sperm Aneuploidy Testing (FISH for 5 chromosomes in> 2000 sperm).
    • Genetic Counseling for PGD, PGS or before considering genetic testing.
    • PGD for Single Gene Disorders - Standard method.
    • PGD for Single Gene Disorders - Karyomapping method.
    • HLA-Matching with or without Mutation Detection -Karyomapping method.
    • 24-Chromosome Aneuploidy Screening- aCGH method.
    • PGD for translocation carriers - aCGH method.
    • Products of Conception (POCs) analysis - aCGH method.
    • Non-Invasive Prenatal Testing (NIPT).

     

  • Genetic testing in embryos

    Human embryos are usually cultured for three days (cleavage stage) to five days (blastocyst stage) following in vitro fertilization (IVF). Biopsy for genetic analysis can be performed on days 3 or 5 of embryonic development. More than 50% of cleavage-stage embryos produced in vitro are chromosomally abnormal, increasing to up to 80% in women over 42 years of age. These abnormalities result in low implantation and pregnancy rates in embryos transferred during in vitro fertilization procedures.  Although some abnormal embryos arrest between day 3 and 5, most do not, and even at the blastocyst stage more than 40% of embryos are abnormal increasing with advanced maternal age.

    Morphological assessment of embryos cannot identify the majority of lethal aneuploidies. The use of preimplantation genetic testing to identify and preferential transfer chromosomally normal embryos improves implantation rates, reduces miscarriages and trisomic offspring, and ultimately leads to an increase in live birth rates

    Preimplantation Genetic Screening and Diagnosis (PGS/PGD) are types of genetic tests to determine if an embryo carries extra or missing chromosomes or an inherited disease. These tests greatly reduce the risk of having a child with an aneuploidy or a genetic disease of concern.

  • Who benefits from preimplantation genetic testing?

    IVF patients can improve their chances of a healthy pregnancy with PGS/PGD, especially in the following situations:

    • Advanced reproductive age.
    • Previous or recurrent pregnancy loss.
    • Repeated implantation failure.
    • Single embryo transfer.
    • Prior child/pregnancy with an inherited disease or chromosomal abnormality.
    • Severe male factor infertility.
    • Family balancing with gender selection.
  • Preimplantation Genetic Screening (PGS)

    Comprehensive Chromosome Screening: PGS screens for the number of chromosomes in one or a few cells biopsied from embryos produced via IVF. Embryos with the normal number of chromosomes have a better chance of implanting and creating a healthy pregnancy. Following PGS, these embryos can be selected for transfer to the mother's uterus.

    Key features of PGS, include:

    • Comprehensive chromosome aneuploidy screening (all 23 chromosome pairs, including the sex chromosomes).
    • Individual chromosome confidence calls is typically 98% accurate.
    • Gender selection is possible.
  • Preimplantation Genetic Diagnosis (PGD)

    Testing for Inherited Diseases: PGD is available for couples identified to be at high risk of having a child with a specific genetic dis¬order. This includes: autosomal recessive diseases, which can be inherited from two unaffected carrier parents (e.g. Thalassemia or Sickle Cell Anemia); autosomal dominant diseases, which can be inherited from an affected parent (e.g. Huntington disease); and X-linked conditions that can be inherited by an affected father or a carrier mother (e.g. Hemophilia and Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy). PGD can test embryos for virtually any specific, single gene mutation, allowing the transfer of unaffected embryos. Most genetic disorders can be tested for, as long as the gene and mutation have been identified in the patient and/or spouse.

    Testing for Translocation and Inversion carriers: A carrier of a balanced chromosomal rearrangement has an increased risk of passing on too little or too much genetic material to the embryo, possibly causing infertility, miscarriage, or birth defects and disabilities. Embryos can be tested for any extra or missing chromosome pieces, and those with normal or balanced chromosomal results are selected for transfer to the uterus.

    Key features of PGD, include:

    • Significantly reduces the risk of miscarriage.
    • Available for almost all single gene disorders.
    • Tests are tailored to individual patients.
    • Corrects for the most common source of PGD misdiagnosis (allele dropout of ADO).
    • High accuracy rates (>98%) with rapid results.
    • HLA matching is also available.
    • Karyomapping is offered to suitable patients, allowing faster time to PGD (shorter work-up time).
    • All tests employ DNA fingerprinting for contamination detection.
  • Benefits of PGS/PGD

    PGS/PGD can increase the chance of IVF success by identifying the embryo(s) with best chance to achieve a pregnancy. Using this technology, it is possible to determine chromosome copy number and detect unbalanced chromosome rearrangements as well as inherited diseases in embryos.

التشخيص الوراثي قبل الغرس/الفحص الوراثي قبل الغرس

التشخيص الوراثي قبل الزرع (PGD)  يساعد فحص التشخيص الوراثي قبل الزرع (PGS) على التقليل من مخاطر الإصابة بالأمراض الوراثية (على سبيل المثال بيتا الثلاسيميا وفقر الدم المنجلي) وشذوذ الكروموسومات المسؤولة عن فشل الإنغراس أو الإجهاض أو متلازمات (مثل التثلث الصبغي 21 أو متلازمة داون. يوفرجينتكس مجموعة واسعة من الخدمات الوراثية لمساعدة الازواج على تحقيق حمل صحي وتحسين نجاح عمليات التلقيح الصناعي. ويقدم التشخيص الوراثي قبل الزرع  وPGS  سبعة أيام في الأسبوع بشكل سريع يسمح بنقل الأجنة في اليوم التالي. لمزيد من المعلومات، يرجى زيارة

  • الاختبارات والتشخيصات الوراثية المتعلقة بعملية أطفال الأنابيب قبل عملية الغرز

    • تشخيص الكروموسومات في الخلية الجسمية
    • الفحوصات الوراثية قبل عملية الغرز
    • تحليل الطفرات المعروف للأبوين والطفل المصاب والأقارب
    • تنميط مستضد الكريات البيضاء البشرية - مستضد الكريات البيضاء البشرية A+B+C أو  A+B+DR
      مستضد الكريات البيضاء البشرية A+B+C+DRB1/3/4/5+DQB
    • مراقبة حامل المرض> 2000 طفرة مسببة لـ > 250 اضطراب
    • اختبار تكسر الحامض النووي للسائل المنوي
    • اختبار الكشف عن الحذوفات الدقيقة في الصبغيّ أو كروموسوم Y
    • اختبار اختلال الصيغة الصبغية للسائل المنوي (اختبار التهجين الموضعي التألقي لكل خمسة كروموسومات في> 2000 حيوان منوي)
    • الاستشارة الوراثية من أجل التشخيص/الفحص الجيني ما قبل الزرع أو قبل التفكير في إجراء الاختبارات الوراثية
    • التشخيص الجيني قبل الزرع لاضطرابات جين واحد - الطريقة القياسية
    • التشخيص الجيني قبل الزرع لاضطرابات جين واحد - طريقة التنميط النووي
    • مستضد الكريات البيضاء البشرية - متوائم أو غير متوائم مع الكشف عن الطفرات - طريقة التنميط النووي
    • فرز اختلال الصيغة الصبغية للكروموسوم 24- طريقة التهجين الجينومي المقارن
    • التشخيص الجيني قبل الزرع لحاملي التبدل الصبغي - طريقة التهجين الجينومي المقارن
    • تحليل منتجات الحمل (POCs) - طريقة التهجين الجينومي المقارن
    • اختبار ما قبل الولادة غير الجراحي (NIPT)
  • الاختبارات الوراثية للأجنة

    عادةً ما يتم زرع الأجنة البشرية بعد ثلاثة أيام (مرحلة التشطر أو الأنقسام المتكافئ) إلى خمسة أيام (مرحلة الكيسة الأريمية) عقب التخصيب الصناعي في المختبر. يمكن القيام بأخذ خزعة للتحليل الجيني بعد 3 أيام أو 5 أيام من النمو الجنيني. إن أكثر من 50% من الأجنة في مرحلة التشطر والتي ينتجها أزواج يخضعون لعملية التخصيب الصناعي في المختبر تكون شاذة صبغيًا وتزيد حتى تصل إلى 80% في النساء اللاتي تزيد أعمارهن عن 42 عامًا. وتنتهي هذه التشوهات إلى معدلات زرع وحمل متدنية في الأجنة المنقولة أثناء إجراءات التخصيب الصناعي في المختبر. وبالرغم من أن بعض الأجنة المشوهة توقف وتُحتجز ما بين اليوم الثالث والخامس وحتى في مرحلة الكيسة الأريمية إلا أن أكثر من 40% من الأجنة تتشوه وتزيد هذه النسبة بتقدم عمر الأم.

    إن التقييم التشكلي للأجنة لا يمكنه تحديد الغالبية العظمى من اختلالات الصيغة الصبغية القاتلة. إن إجراء الاختبار الجيني قبل عملية الزرع لتحديد ونقل أجنة طبيعية صبغيًا بشكل انتقائي تفضيلي يحسن من معدلات الزرع ويقلل من حالات الإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر وإنتاج نسل مختل الصيغة الصبغية وبالتالي يؤدي في النهاية إلى زيادة في معدلات المواليد الحية.

    إن التشخيص/الفحص الجيني ما قبل الزرع (PGS/PGD) نوعان من أنواع الاختبارات الجينية لتحديد ما إذا كان الجنين يحمل تشوهًا صبغيًا أو مرضًا وراثيًا. وتقلل هذه الاختبارات بشكل كبير خطر الحمل بطفل مصاب بخلل في إحدى الصيغ الصبغية أو بمرض وراثي يدعو للقلق.

  • من المستفيد من إجراء الاختبارات الوراثية قبل الزرع؟

    يمكن تحسين فرص المرضى الذي يخضعون لعملية أطفال الأنابيب في الحصول على حمل صحي سليم عن طريق إجراء التشخيص/الفحص الجيني ما قبل الزرع في الحالات التالية:

    • سن إنجاب متقدم
    • فقدان سابق للحمل أو متكرر
    • إخفاق متكرر لعملية الزرع
    • نقل جنين فرديّ
    • الحمل بطفل سابق مصاب بمرض وراثي أو باختلال صبغي
    • عقم العامل الذكوري الشديد
    • التوازن الأسري مع اختيار الجنس
  • الفحص الجيني ما قبل الزرع (PGS)

    الفرز والفحص الشامل للكروموسومات:يفرز الفحص الجيني ما قبل الزرع عدد الكروموسومات في خلية واحدة أو في عدة خلايا مختلة صبغيًا في أجنة نتجت عن عملية أطفال الأنابيب. إن الأجنة التي بها عدد طبيعي من الكروموسومات لديها فرصة أفضل لعملية الزرع وتكوين حمل صحي. وبعد الفحص الجيني ما قبل الزرع يمكن اختيار تلك الأجنة لنقلها إلى رحم الأم

    تتضمن المزايا الرئيسية للفحص الجيني ما قبل الزرع ما يلي:

    • الفرز الشامل لاختلال الصيغ الصبغية (جميع الأزواج الصبغية الـ 23 بما في ذلك صبغيات الجنس)
    • إن قرارات الاعتماد على الكروموسوم الفردي عادةً ما تكون صحيحة ودقيقة بنسبة 98%.
    • اختيار الجنس أمر ممكن
  • التشخيص الجيني ما قبل الزرع (PGD)

    اختبارات الأمراض الوراثية:إن التشخيص الجيني ما قبل الزرع متوفر للأزواج الذين ثبت أنهم عرضة لخطر إنجاب طفل مصاب باضطراب وراثي -معين. وهذا يشمل: الأمراض الصبغية الجسدية المتنحية - والتي يمكن توريثها من أبوين حاملين للمرض غير مصابين (مثل الثلاسيميا أو  فقر الدم المنجلي)- والأمراض الصبغية الجسدية السائدة - والتي يمكن توريثها من أحد الوالدين المصاب (مثل داء هنتنغتون)-، الأمراض المرتبطة بالكروموسوم X والتي يمكن توريثها من أب مصاب أو أم حاملة للمرض (مثل الناعور والحثل العضلي الدوشيني). يمكن للتشخيص الجيني قبل الزرع اختبار الأجنة للكشف عن وجود طفرة بأي جين فردي معين مما يسمح بنقل الأجنة غير المصابة. يمكن إجراء اختبار للكشف عن معظم الاظطرابات الوراثية طالما تم تحديد الجين والطفرة في المريض و/أو أحد الزوجين.

    إجراء الاختبارات لحاملي التبدل الصبغي والانتكاس:تزيد لدى حامل إعادة التنظيم المتوازنة للكروموسومات مخاطر عبور القليل جدًا أو الكثير للغاية من المادة الوراثية إلى الجنين مما قد يسبب العقم والإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر أو حدوث تشوهات وإعاقات لدى المولود. يتم اختيار الأجنة - التي يمكن إجراء اختبار لها للكشف عن وجود أجزاء صبغية مفقودة أو زائدة وأجزاء بها آثار صبغية متوازنة أو طبيعية - لنقلها إلى رحم الأم.

    تتضمن المزايا الرئيسية للتشخيص الجيني ما قبل الزرع ما يلي:

    • يقلل بشكل كبير مخاطر التعرض للإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر
    • متاح لمعظم اضطرابات الجين الواحد
    • يتم إجراء الاختبارات لكل مريض على حدة
    • يصحح المصدر الأكثر شيوعًا للتشخيص الجيني الخاطئ لما قبل الزرع (انقطاع الأليل "تعدد أشكال امتداد الشظية المضخم")
    • معدلات الدقة العالية (>98%) في ظل نتائج سريعة
    • يتيح موائمة مستضد الكريات البيضاء البشرية
    • يقدم التنميط النووي للمرضى الملائمين مما يسمح بوقت أسرع للقيام بالتشخيص الجيني ما قبل عملية الزرع (وقت أقصر للقيام بالتقييم الطبي)
    • تستخدم بصمة الحمض النووي في جميع الاختبارات للكشف عن الإصابة
  • فوائد إجراء التشخيص/الفحص الجيني ما قبل الزرع

    يمكن أن يزيد إجراء التشخيص/الفحص الجيني ما قبل الزرع من فرص نجاح عملية أطفال الأنابيب عن طريق تحديد الجنين (الأجنة) في ظل وجود فرصة أفضل لتحقيق الحمل. وباستخدام هذه التكنولوجيا يمكن تحديد رقم نسخة الكروموسوم والكشف عن عمليات إعادة ترتيب الكروموسومات غير المتوازنة وكذلك الأمراض الوراثية في الأجنة.