Gender selection

In AAFC, we can offer gender selection to couples that desire to have a son or a daughter. Additionally, we sometimes perform gender selection to minimize the risk of disseminating a genetic condition carried by one or both of the parents.

  • How is the gender of a prospective baby determined in a pregnancy?

    In every cell of the human body, the genetic material (DNA) is organized in 46 strings of information called chromosomes or in 23 pairs of them with one copy coming from the maternal DNA and one from the paternal.

    The gender of an embryo is determined by the sex chromosomes, X and Y. In all cells of the body, a woman always have two X chromosomes and a man always have one X and one Y chromosome. Egg and sperm cells, however, are an exception. They have half of the genetic material to the rest of the cells in the body carrying 23 unpaired chromosomes. This allows them to maintain the total number of chromosomes stable when they come together during fertilization. The newly created life will again have 23 chromosomal pairs (46 chromosomes in total) with half contribution from the mother and half from the father.

    Hence, the eggs always have one X chromosome, and sperms can have either one X or one Y chromosome, being the sex-determining factor. When an X-bearing sperm is combined with an egg, they produce a baby girl (XX), and when a Y-bearing sperm is combined with an egg, they produce a baby boy (XY).

  • Who may benefit from gender selection?

    Gender selection is a method of choice for couples that wish to have a son or a daughter for a number of social reasons. For instance, they may wish to balance their family, because they already have older son(s) or daughter(s).

    But also, gender selection is extremely useful method for minimizing the risk of disseminating a genetic condition due to a mutation on the X chromosome of both or one of the parents.

    For instance, in the case that a mutation is located on the X chromosome of the mother(X-linked genetic condition), this couple, with each pregnancy, may expect 50% chance of having baby boys that are completely affected by the condition, and 50% chance of having baby girls that are carriers of the condition. So, for these parents to have a healthy child, we can use gender selection and choose for the unaffected embryo of their choice, the non-carrier, completely healthy male or female embryo.

  • How is gender selection done?

    We perform gender selection by the use of In-Vitro Fertilization (IVF) and Preimplantation Genetic Diagnosis (PGD) on the early, 8-cell stage embryos (3 days post-fertilization) or on the blastocyst stage(5 days post-fertilization).

    Briefly, the procedure comprises of the following steps:

    • The mother will undergo ovarian stimulation for the production of more than one mature egg (8-12 eggs) in one of her menstrual cycles.
    • On the day of the egg collection, the father will provide the sperms, which will be placed in a dish along the eggs for the fertilization to occur.
    • In the following 3 days, several early embryos (8-cell stage) will have developed. To test which ones are male and which ones are female, one cell from each of these embryos will be removed and sent for PGD analysis (Y-chromosome testing) in our Reprogenetics laboratory. The procedure can also be done after 5 days, at the blastocyst stage embryo, which involves removal of 5-10 cells for PGD testing.
    • The PGD results are returned to us within 24 hours, and based on them, a female (XX) or male (XY) early embryo (depending on your choice) is transferred back in your womb.
    • Following this procedure, the pregnancy will continue as normally.

    Another advantage of gender selection is that all of your embryos will be screened by PGD, and if there are any other chromosomal abnormalities, they will be detected (for instance excess or lack of a chromosome, otherwise known as aneuploidy testing). This way, we make sure that you will be able to have the healthy baby girl or boy you desire.

  • What is the accuracy of gender selection?

    Fertilization of 8 to 12 of your eggs with the sperm of your spouse will result in 4 to 6 embryos of one or the other sex. Even if this balance is slightly skewed, it will still leave us with enough embryos of both sexes for transfer of the embryo of your choice back in your womb. Using PGD for identifying the sex of the embryo is a very reliable method, and therefore, we can say that we will be able to deliver on your selection with 100%accuracy.

اختيار نوع المولود

في مركز العين للإخصاب، نوفر خدمة اختيار نوع المولود (بغرض التوازن الأسري) للأزواج الراغبين في إنجاب ذكر أو أنثى. علاوةً على ذلك، نقوم في بعض الأحيان بعملية اختيار نوع المولود لتقليل خطر الإصابة بحالة وراثية معينة يحملها أحد الأبوين أو كلاهما.

  • كيف يتحدد نوع المولود المنتظر في فترة الحمل؟

    في كل خلية من خلايا الجسم البشري، توجد المادة الوراثية (DNA) في 46 سلسلة من المعلومات تسمى الكروموسومات أو 23 زوجًا منها نسخة إحداهما من المادة الوراثية للأم والأخرى من الأب.

    يتحدد نوع المولود عن طريق كروموسومات الجنس:  X وY. في كل خلايا الجسم، يكون لدى المرأة 2 كرموسوم X ويكون لدى الرجل كروموسوم X وآخر Y؛ غير أن خلايا البويضات والحيوانات المنوية تعد استثناءً؛ فهي تحمل نصف المادة الوراثية لبقية الخلاية في الجسم: 23 كروموسومًا منفردًا. ويسمح ذلك ببقاء عدد الكروموسومات الإجمالي ثابتًا عندما يتحد الحيوان المنوي والبويضة خلال التخصيب. والآن، تبدأ حياة جديدة لديها 23 زوجا من الكروموسومات (بإجمالي 46 كروسومًا) نصفها من الأم والنصف الآخر من الأب.

    وبالتالي ستعطي البويضة دائمًا كروموسومًا واحدًا X ويعطي الحيوان المنوي إما كروموسوم X أو كروموسوم Y، وبذلك يكون الحيوان المنوي مسئولاً عن تحديد جنس المولود. وعندما يتحد حيوان منوي حامل لكروموسوم X مع بويضة فإنهما ينتجان طفلة (XX)، وعندما يتحد حيوان منوي حامل لكروموسوم Y مع بويضة فإنهما ينتجان طفلاً (XY).

  • من المستفيد من اختيار نوع المولود؟

    يعد اختيار نوع المولود أسلوبًا لاختيار الأزواج الراغبين في إنجاب ابنًا أو بنت لعدد من الأسباب الاجتماعية. على سبيل المثال قد يريدان إيجاد نوع من التوازن في الأسرة، لأن لديهما بالفعل أبناء ذكور اكثر من الإناث أو بالعكس.

    وأيضًا يعتبر اختيار نوع المولود طريقة مفيدة جدًا في تقليل خطر حمل حالة وراثية بسبب طفرة في الكروموسوم X لأحد الأبوين أو كليهما.

    فمثلا، في حالة وجود الطفرة في الكروموسوم X الخاص بالأم (حالة مرضية وراثية خاصة بالكروموسوم X)، فإن الزوجين يتوقعان مع كل حمل بنسبة 50% أن ينجبا أطفالاً ذكورًا مصابين بهذه الحالة المرضية، و50% بأن يكون لديهما أطفالاً إناثًا حاملات للمرض. وبالتالي، إذا أراد الأبوان الحصول على طفل سليم يمكننا اختيار نوع المولود وانتقاء جنين غير مصاب من اختيارهم، وهو الجنين غير الحامل للمرض السليم تمامًا الذكر أو الأنثى.

  • كيف يتم اختيار نوع المولود؟

    نقوم باختيار نوع المولود عن طريق التخصيب في المختبر (IVF) وتشخيص ما قبل الزرع الوراثي (PGD) في المرحلة الأولية للأجنة (8 خلايا) (بعد التخصيب بثلاثة أيام) أو في مرحلة الكيسة الأريمية (5 أيام بعد التخصيب).

    وباختصار يشمل الإجراء كلاً من الخطوات التالية:

    • تخضع الأم لتحفيز مبايض لإنتاج أكثر من بويضة ناضجة (8-12 بويضة) في إحدى دوراتها الشهرية.
    • في يوم جمع البويضات، يقدم الأب الحيوانات المنوية التي توضع في طبق مع البويضات كي يحدث التخصيب.
    • في الأيام الثلاثة التالية، سيتطور العديد من الأجنة الأولية (مرحلة 8 خلايا). ولاختبار أيها ذكرًا وأيها أنثى، تُزال خلية واحدة من كل جنين وترسل لتحليلها وراثيًا قبل الغرس (التشخيص الوراثي قبل الزرع)PGD  (اختبار الكروموسوم Y) في مختبر ريبروجنيتكس Repreogenetics التابع لنا. ويمكن أيضًا إجراء العملية بعد 5 أيام، في مرحلة جنين الكيسة الأريمية، وتتضمن إزالة 5-10 خلايا لإجراء التشخيص الوراثي قبل الزرع PGD.
    • تُعاد نتائج التشخيص الوراثي قبل الزرع PGD إلينا خلال 24 ساعة، وبناءً عليها يُعاد نقل جنين أولي أنثى (XX) أو ذكر (XY) [حسب اختياركما] إلى رحمك.
    • بعد هذا الإجراء، سيسير الحمل في مساره الطبيعي.

    وهناك ميزة أخرى لاختيار نوع المولود وهي أن كل أجنتك ستخضع للفحص عن طريق إجراء التشخيص الوراثي قبل الزرع PGD وإذا ما كان هناك أية اضطرابات صبغية أخرى فسيتم اكتشافها (مثل زيادة أو نقص كروموسوم، ويعرف أيضًا باسم اختبار اختلال الصيغة الصبغية). وبهذه الطريقة، نتأكد من أنكم ستحصلون على طفل سليم ذكر أو أنثى حسب رغبتكم.

  • ما هي دقة اختيار نوع المولود؟

    يؤدي تخصيب 8 -12 بويضة بحيوان منوي من زوجك إلى ظهور 4-6 أجنة من جنس معين أو من جنس آخر. وحتى إذا انحرف هذا التوازن قليلاً فإنه يترك لنا ما يكفي من الأجنة من الجنسين لنقل ما تختارينه إلى رحمك. إن استخدام تشخيص ما قبل الزرع الوراثي PGD لتحديد جنس الجنين يعتبر طريقة موثوقة للغاية، ولذلك يمكننا القول بأننا سنتمكن من تحقيق اختياركم بدقة 100%.