Fertility Preservation

Sperm and egg freezing are recommended and available only to married couples that either need to protect their fertility due to receiving treatment for a medical condition, or like to extent their parenthood in the future.

  • What is fertility preservation?

    Fertility preservation offers the opportunity, to both men and women, to prolong their ability to procreate either for medical or social reasons.

    For women, the introduction of a rapid and efficient cryopreservation technique has allowed safe storage of eggs until wanted for progressing with a pregnancy. Because egg quality declines with age, their cryopreservation from an earlier time point can significantly increase future fertility chances.

    For men, preservation is mainly useful for medical reasons, because sperms are not affected by aging in the same way that eggs are.

  • Who can benefit from fertility preservation?

    It is beneficial for men and women that have a medical condition and receive treatment that may seriously harm their fertility. For instance, cancer patients that will be given chemotherapy, radiotherapy or undergo surgery.

    For young women with cancer, these options include freezing of eggs, and depending on the case, a treatment that may protect the ovaries from toxic chemotherapy drugs.

    For young men with cancer, the options include freezing of sperm and / or testicular tissue. Often, the effects of chemotherapy / radiotherapy are temporary, but in some cases they may cause a permanent damage.

    Fertility preservation can also be an option for women that may need to focus on other areas of their life, before they can commence a family and are concerned that their fertility declines.

    Additionally, it is recommended to people with a debilitating condition or in high risk of injury.

    Fertility preservation is also offered to women, who have excess of matured eggs after a cycle of ovarian stimulation and would like to keep them for future trials without starting fertility treatment from the beginning.

    On the contrary, it is offered to women with low ovarian reserve (low capacity of producing eggs) that do not have enough eggs produced after a natural-cycle, minimal-stimulation or a full In-Vitro Fertilization (IVF) cycle, and opt to keep collecting eggs before fertilization is attempted (egg accumulation).

    Additionally, it is offered to men that cannot be present the day that their wife’s eggs are retrieved and prepared for fertilization.

    If you are considering any of the above fertility preservation options, you should discuss your situation and motivations with one of our consultant doctors, who can advice you further based on your individual circumstances.

تمديد الخصوبة

ينصح بتجميد الحيوانات المنوية والبويضات اما لأسباب صحية أو اجتماعية ويتم اعطاء هذه الفرصة فقط للمتزوجين إما للذين يحتاجون لحماية خصوبتهم أثناء تلقيهم العلاج لحالة طبية أو ما شابه لتمديد خصوبتهم في المستقبل.

  • ما هو تمديد الخصوبة؟

    الهدف من هذا الأجراء هو اعطاء الفرصة لكل من الرجال والنساء لإطالة قدرتهم على الإنجاب إما لأسباب طبية أو اجتماعية.

    بالنسبة للنساء فإن إدخال تقنية تجميد البويضات بآلية التبريد السريع أو التزجيج الفعالة و التي سمحت بالتخزين الآمن للبويضات للمستقبل عند التفكير بالحمل و الأنجاب. وأيضا فأن حفظ البويضات في سن مبكر عند النساء يعتبر ذو أهمية بالغة  وذلك لأن جودة البويضات تنخفض نسبيا مع التقدم في السن, فإن حفظهن في سن صغير يمكن أن تزيد بدرجة كبيرة من فرص الخصوبة في المستقبل.

    بالنسبة للرجال, فإن تمديد الخصوبة عن طريق حفظ الحيوانات المنوية يكون بسبب طبي في أغلب الأحيان, وذلك لأن الحيوانات المنوية لا تتأثر بالتقدم في العمر بنفس الطريقة التي تتأثر بها البويضات.

  • من الذي يمكنه الاستفادة من تمديد الخصوبة؟

    هو الحل الأمثل للرجال والنساء في حالات العلاج الذي يمكن أن يؤثر بشكل سلبي على خصوبتهم, على سبيل المثال مرضى السرطان الذين سيتلقون العلاج الكيميائي أو الإشعاعي أو الخضوع لعملية جراحية.

    بالنسبة للنساء الصغار المصابات بالسرطان, فإن الخيار الأمثل هو تجميد البويضات, لأن أدوية العلاج الكيميائي تعتبر سامة و تؤثر على المبايض يشكل سلبي حيث انه هنالك احتمال كبير حدوث تلف في مخازن البويضات خلال العلاج الكيميائي أو حتى بعد فترة العلاج.

    بالنسبة للشباب المصابين بالسرطان, فأن الخيار الأمثل هو تجميد الحيوانات المنوية و/أو أنسجة الخصية. وغالبًا ما يكون تأثير العلاج الكيميائي/الإشعاعي مؤقتًا, ولكن في بعض الحالات قد يتسبب في ضرر دائم.

    يمكن أن يكون الحفاظ على الخصوبة أيضًا خيار أمثل للزوجات اللاتي قد تحتجن لتأخير الأمومة لأنشغالهن في أشياء أخرى مثل التعليم أو العمل أو التركيز على مناطق أخرى في حياتهن قبل أن يتمكنّ من البدء في تكوين أسرة ولديهن مخاوف من إنخفاض خصوبتهن.

    بالإضافة لذلك ينصح به للناس الذين لديهم حالة وهن أو في عرضة لخطر كبير بالإصابة.

    و نقدم هذه الخدمة أيضًا للنساء اللاتي لديهن فائض من البويضات الناضجة بعد دورة تنشيط المبايض ويرغبن في الاحتفاظ بهن لمحاولات مستقبلية بدون بدء علاج العقم منذ البداية.

    وعلى النقيض مما ذكر سابقا فأننا نقدم هذه الخدمة للنساء التي لديهن انخفاض في احتياطي المبيض (انخفاض القدرة على إنتاج البيض) أو الحد الأدنى من التحفيز أو دورة كاملة لعملية أطفال الأنابيب, واختيار الحفاظ على جمع البويضات قبل محاولة الإخصاب (تراكم البويضات).

    إذا أخذت بعين الإعتبار أي من خيارات الحفاظ على الخصوبة و تمديدها المذكورة أعلاه, يجب عليك مناقشة الوضع الخاص بك ودوافعك مع أحد أطبائنا الاستشاريين, الذي يمكن أن ينصحك بالمزيد اعتمادًا على ظروفك الفردية.